About the AU Instruments

Since the formation of the OAU, African Governments committed to ratify, domesticate and implement 42 Charters, Treaties, Protocols and Conventions. At least a third of these have been developed after the African Union was established in 2001. Key among these are the African charter on Human and People’ rights (1990), the Protocol to the African Charter on Human and People’s on the Rights of Women in Africa (2003) and the African charter on the Rights and Welfare of the Child (1990), the Convention on Preventing and Combating Corruption (2003), the African Charter on Democracy, Elections and Governance (2007) and the African Charter on the Values and Principles of Public Service and Administration (2011) among others.

Read More